READ THE ****ING INSTRUCTIONS

SO, THE PACER POLES !

I have pretty much got these working (nearly).

I decided bigger ferrules would be a good idea for the holding up the Trailstar on softer ground.
Mind you, the one I now have on is a big snow monster, it might not make it to the start at Morar.
I may downsize.
I only have the larger one on one pole, the other one is normal size.

I also added a small sock (one of Harriet’s old socks) and a bit of bubble wrap in it to use when the Pole is holding up the tarp.
I will NOT be walking with it on the handle. It is just there so I do not forget to take it.
I know the Trailstar is reinforced at the top, but Pacer handles are quite angular and pointy in places, so a bit of bubble wrap inside the sock should spread the load a bit (I hope).

I also added some physio tape and an army of elastic bands round the handle in case they jam up and I need a bit more grip to undo them.

Anyway, while I was doing that I found the original instructions.

And here I quote Pacer

‘AFTER USE LEAVE THE SHAFTS DISMANTLED AND STORE IN A DRY PLACE’
Well, I never stored them dismantled, until now 🙂

It then goes on to state ………………………………………………………………

‘ONLY USE PLAIN WATER WHEN CLEANING PACER POLES.
DO NOT LUBRICATE INSIDE THE SHAFT SECTIONS OT THE PLASTIC LOCKING BOLTS’

FUCK!

So, there you go …………  READ the £***ing instructions !


I am now off to do some work and also the Gym, to build up my arm strength, lest I need to pull them apart when they jam again.
Maybe I should be taking the Leki’s?
Hmmmm I’ll ponder on that!




That will do for now, I have to go through my lists and work out what essential item is missing.

Don’t I?

11 thoughts on “READ THE ****ING INSTRUCTIONS

  1. The PacerPole locking mechanism is their BIG (only!) weakness IMO. I always clean mine after use and leave them dismantled in a warm, dry environment – but it makes no difference.
    On the other hand the Black Diamond flick-lock system is the dog's wotsits.
    Perhaps Mr & Mrs PacerPole could be persuaded to graft their excellent PacerPole handles onto Black Diamond poles.
    JJ

  2. I agree that Pacer poles with Black Diamond flick-locks would be a match made in Nirvana. Not sure about the socks though.

    Must get down to some serious list checking to make sure nothing
    vital, is

  3. Perhaps Mr & Mrs PacerPole could be persuaded to graft their excellent PacerPole handles onto Black Diamond poles.

    Or just make them with the speed-lock system.
    Leki use it now as well.
    I guess I will have to go with them.
    As long as one of them locks to 120, I can live with that.
    But, I might just get the Leki's out and have a play though.
    Being paranoid.
    Anyway, the Leki's weigh less.

    Thinks !!!!

  4. Does nothing for me.

    If I really have got something missing (other than a screw loose),
    then someone better clue me in before I leave,
    because I cannot see what it is.
    IF it is.

  5. In fact I am now beginning to get Paranoid.
    After that it will be schizophrenia.
    Then there are people out there who need to start to worry.

    You think I am joking?

  6. No, but I did forget to re-attach them the other day.
    Got a bit of a shock when I got to the end of the road.
    Shoes might need new soles now 🙂

Leave a Reply

